od o

Commonwealth of Virginia

GENERAL ASSEMBLY

RICHMOND

Joint Subcommittee on the Virginia Preschool Initiative (VPI)

Monday, December 10, 2018, 1:30-4:30 PM

Pocahontas Building, Ground Floor, Shared Committee Room (Rm E007)

A GENDA

Welcome and Call to Order

- The Honorable R. Steven Landes, Co-Chair
- The Honorable Emmett W. Hanger, Jr., Co-Chair
- I. Remarks on Proposed Alignment of Early Childhood Structures and Governance
 - Pamela Northam, First Lady of Virginia
- II. Review of the November 1, 2018 Virginia Preschool Initiative "Quality Plan," Application for Federal Preschool Development Grant, and Recent School Readiness Committee Activities
 - Jenna Conway, Chief School Readiness Officer, Virginia Department of Education
- III. Report of the Integrated Financing Workgroup
 - Dr. James F. Lane, Superintendent of Public Instruction, Virginia Department of Education
 - Kathy Glazer, President, Virginia Early Childhood Foundation
- IV. Update on Outcomes of Mixed Delivery Public-Private Partnership Grants
 - Kathy Glazer, President, Virginia Early Childhood Foundation
 - Lindsey Allard Agnamba, Founder & Executive Director, School Readiness Consulting
- V. Status Report on Implementation of 2018 Session Initiatives: Classroom Assessment Scoring System (CLASS®) and Professional Development, Virginia Kindergarten Readiness Assessment Program, and Curriculum Pilot
 - Dr. Amanda Williford, Associate Professor, Center for Advanced Study of Teaching & Learning (CASTL), Curry School of Education, University of Virginia
- VI. Update on Final Year of Federal "VPI-Plus" Program
 - Dr. Mark Allan, Early Childhood Education Project Manager, Virginia Department of Education
 - Jenna Conway, Chief School Readiness Officer, Virginia Department of Education
 - Todd Grindal, Scientific Research Institute (SRI) International

Discussion

Members

MEMBERSHIP:

Delegate R. Steven Landes (Co-Chair)
Delegate Christopher K. Peace
Delegate Barry D. Knight
Delegate Todd E. Pillion
Delegate Luke E. Torian

Senator Emmett W. Hanger, Jr. (Co-Chair) Senator Janet D. Howell Senator Stephen D. Newman

Senator Frank M. Ruff, Jr. Senator Ryan T. McDougle