
Overview of Virginia Tax Policy
December 12, 2022



Revenue Collections & 
Administration of Taxes



Revenue Collections

General Fund 
(TAX)
34.3%

Non-General  
Fund (TAX)

1.4%

General Fund
(Other 

Agencies)
1.6%

Non-General 
Fund 
(Other 

Agencies)
62.7%

17.9 18.2 18.8 20.0
21.5 21.9

25.124.8 25.3 26.1
27.6

29.2

39.1

50.0

$0

$10

$20

$30

$40

$50

FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021

Bi
llio

ns
$

General Fund Non-General Fund

*Represents revenue collections by all agencies, excluding Virginia Retirement System (VRS) and some bond and bank transactions.

Statewide Revenue Collections, FY 2021*



Sales and Use Tax
(GF) 16%

Individual Income Tax
68%

Corporate Income 
Tax 6%

Other 10%

Revenue Collections

Taxes Administered by Virginia Tax, FY 2021*

12.3 12.6 13.1
14.1

15.2 15.4

17.2

3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 3.6 3.7 4.2

0.8 0.8 0.8 0.9 0.9 1.0 1.5

$0

$2

$4

$6

$8

$10

$12

$14

$16

$18

$20

FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018 FY 2019 FY 2020 FY 2021
Bi

llio
ns

$

Individual Income Sales and Use Tax Corporate Income Tax

*These are General Fund tax sources of revenue, except for Other (which also includes non-General Fund sources of revenue).



▸ Individual and Corporate Income Taxes
▸ Retail Sales and Use Tax (portion to localities and non-General Funds)
▸ Insurance Premiums License Tax (portion transferred to CTF)
▸ Bank Franchise Tax (portion distributed to localities)
▸ Railroad Rolling Stock Tax
▸ Estate Tax (estates of persons who died before July 1, 2007)
▸ Recordation, Suits, and Probate Taxes (collected by clerks of the Circuit Courts)

Taxes Administered by Virginia Tax – General Fund Revenue

Administration of Taxes



▸ Communications Sales Tax (distributed to localities)
▸ Aircraft Sales and Use Tax
▸ Watercraft Sales and Use Tax (collected by Game and Inland Fisheries)
▸ Cigarette and Other Tobacco Products Taxes
▸ Commodity Taxes: Apple, Corn, Cotton, Egg, Forest Products, Peanut, Sheep, 

Small Grains, Soybeans, Tires, Litter, Soft Drinks

Taxes Administered by Virginia Tax – Non-General Fund Revenue

Administration of Taxes



▸ Public Utility License Tax (SCC)
▸ Beer and Beverage, Distilled Spirits, and License Taxes (ABC)
▸ Unemployment Compensation Tax (VEC)
▸ Premium Tax on Workers’ Compensation Insurance (Workers’ Compensation 

Commission)
▸ Motor Fuel, Motor Vehicle Sales, and Rental Taxes (DMV)
▸ Utility Consumer Taxes (SCC)

Examples of Taxes Administered by Other Agencies

Administration of Taxes



Individual Income Tax



▸ Virginia generally conforms to federal definitions of income, as of a fixed date

▸ During the 2022 General Assembly session, the date was advanced from December 31, 
2020 to December 31, 2021

▸ Reasons for conformity – simplicity, efficiency, and compliance:

▸ Taxpayers do not have to recalculate their tax liability with different Virginia 
definitions and rules

▸ The Department can rely on federal data and compliance measures for accuracy

▸ Reduces potential revenue loss attributable to noncompliance

▸ Reduces administrative compliance costs (e.g., audits)

▸ Virginia forms and compliance focus on Virginia additions, subtractions and credits

Conformity

Background



▸ Virginia deconforms from the following federal provisions:

▸ Bonus depreciation allowed for certain assets under federal law

▸ The five-year carryback of certain NOL deductions generated in 2008-9

▸ The federal treatment of applicable high yield discount obligations

▸ The federal treatment of cancellation of debt income realized in connection with 
certain business assets

▸ The suspension of the federal overall limitation on itemized deductions

▸ The reduction in the medical expense deduction floor

▸ Certain business tax changes made by the CARES Act and Consolidated 
Appropriations Act, 2021

Conformity

Deconformity Provisions



Conformity

Inflation Reduction Act
▸ On August 16, 2022, the Inflation Reduction Act of 2022 (“the IRA”) (H.R.5376) was 

signed into law 
▸ Conforming to the IRA would slightly reduce General Fund revenues due to the following 

two provisions that would directly impact Virginia taxpayers:

Provision FY 2023 FY 2024 FY 2025 FY 2026 FY 2027

Enhancements to the Energy Efficient 
Commercial Buildings Deduction 

($0.21) ($0.30) ($0.24) ($0.22) ($0.20)

Cost Recovery for Qualified Property, 
and Energy Storage Technology

- - - - ($0.10)

Total (Preliminary) ($0.21) ($0.30) ($0.24) ($0.22) ($0.29)*

* Totals may not sum due to rounding



▸ Starting point is Federal Adjusted Gross Income (FAGI)
▸ Add specified items to the extent that they are excluded from FAGI
▸ Subtract specified items to the extent they are included in FAGI
▸ Deduct (whether or not included in FAGI):

▸ Specified deductions, such as the $12,000 age deduction;
▸ Either the standard deduction or itemized deductions; and
▸ Personal exemptions

▸ Apply tax rates
▸ Apply any tax credits to reduce tax liability

Individual Income Tax

Computation of Tax



▸ Virginia applies a graduated income tax rate on the net income of individuals

▸ Current individual income tax rates:

Individual Income Tax

Virginia Taxable Income Rate

First $3,000 2%

$3,001-$5,000 3%

$5,001-$17,000 5%

$17,001 or more 5.75%

Rate Structure



▸ The TCJA eliminated the federal personal exemption for TY 2018-TY 2025, which was 
$4,050 prior to elimination

▸ History of Virginia’s personal exemption amounts:

Individual Income Tax

Personal Exemptions

Year Amount

1972—1985 $600

1986 $700

1986—2004 $800

2005—2007 $900

2008—present $930



▸ Under the TCJA, the federal standard deduction was increased to $12,000 ($24,000 for 
joint filers), indexed for inflation (set to expire in TY 2026)

▸ The 2019 and 2022 Virginia increases are also set to expire in TY 2026

Individual Income Tax

Standard Deduction Increases

Filing
Status 1972—1986 1987 1988 1989-2004 2005-2019 2020-2021 2022*-

2025
Single The greater of 15% 

of AGI or $1,300 not 
to exceed $2,000

$2,000 $2,700
$3,000 $3,000 $4,500 $8,000

Married $5,000 $6,000 $9,000 $16,000

Married 
Separate

The greater of 15% 
of AGI or $650 not 
to exceed  $1,000

$1,000 $1,350 $2,500 $3,000 $4,500 $8,000

*For TY 2022 and TY 2023, if specified revenue targets are not met, the standard deduction amounts are $7,500/$15,000



Corporate Income Tax



▸ Starting point is Federal Taxable Income (from federal tax return)
▸ Apply any additions, subtractions, and deductions to determine Virginia Taxable 

Income
▸ Multistate corporations must allocate and apportion income
▸ Apply 6% tax rate to the income subject to Virginia tax
▸ Apply any tax credits to reduce tax liability

Corporate Income Tax

Computation of Tax



Corporate Income Tax

▸ Virginia’s statutory method of apportionment consists of three factors: property, 
payroll, and sales (double-weighted)

▸ Of these three factors, sales can be the most difficult to determine
▸ Sales of tangible property are assigned to Virginia if they are delivered to a 

location in Virginia
▸ Sales of services or intangible property are assigned to Virginia if the greater 

portion of income producing activity (measured by “costs of performance”) is 
in Virginia

▸ In certain situations, Virginia allows alternative sourcing methods, such as market-
based sourcing

Apportionment



▸ Market-based sourcing of services/intangibles: 

▸ Prior studies have been unable to determine the revenue impact due to a lack of 
data

▸ Virginia has adopted for specific industries – debt buyers (2018) and property 
analytics firms (2022)

▸ Single sales factor apportionment: 

▸ Virginia has adopted for specific industries - manufacturers (elective - 2009), retailers 
(2012), enterprise data centers (2015), and debt buyers (2018)

▸ Unitary combined reporting - A workgroup established pursuant to 2021 HJ 563 did not 
recommend adopting unitary combined reporting (report published here)

Corporate Income Tax

Recent Trends in Other States

https://rga.lis.virginia.gov/Published/2021/RD605/PDF


Retail Sales and Use Tax



▸ Tax on the sale, lease or rental of tangible personal property (TPP) or the use or 
consumption of tangible personal property in Virginia
▸ Consumers are responsible for paying sales tax at the time of purchase
▸ Dealers are responsible for charging and collecting the tax at the time of purchase 

and for remitting the tax timely
▸ Although all sales taxes collected are remitted directly to Virginia Tax, a portion is 

distributed to the localities where the sales were made
▸ Out-of State Dealers Use Tax is collected by out-of-state businesses that collect the tax 

from Virginia customers and remit it to Virginia Tax (i.e., internet sales)
▸ Use tax also applies to TPP purchased outside of Virginia, but used, consumed or stored 

in Virginia that would have been subject to the tax had it been purchased in Virginia

Retail Sales and Use Tax

Overview



▸ In 2000, the General Assembly enacted legislation that applied a reduced sales tax rate 
on food for home consumption, which was phased in over four years

▸ In 2005, the food tax provisions were accelerated to reduce the state rate 5o the current 
rate of 2.5%, comprised of a 1.5% state tax and a 1% local tax.

▸ In 2019, the General Assembly imposed the reduced 2.5% rate to essential personal 
hygiene products

▸ 2022 legislation eliminated the state tax on food for home consumption and essential 
personal hygiene products
▸ Effective January 1, 2023
▸ The local 1% rate will continue to apply

Retail Sales and Use Tax

Food and Essential Personal Hygiene Products



▸ The base state sales tax rate is 4.3%
▸ Every locality has adopted a local 1% rate, for a combined state and local rate of 5.3%
▸ In addition, since 2013, the General Assembly has enacted several regional tax rates:

▸ Additional 0.7% tax in Hampton Roads (2013), Northern Virginia (2013), and 
Central Virginia (2020) for transportation funding, for a total tax rate of 6%

▸ Additional 1% tax in the Historic Triangle for regional tourism marketing (2018), for 
a total tax rate of 7%

▸ Additional 1% tax for school construction in certain localities (2020-2021), for a 
total tax rate of 6.3%

Retail Sales and Use Tax

Regional and Local Sales & Use Tax Rates



▸ 1992: Quill Corp. v. North Dakota barred a state from requiring an out-of-state mail-
order company to collect use tax on goods sold to customers located within the state 
when the company has no physical presence in the state

▸ 2017: Virginia law change required any dealer owning inventory for sale located in 
Virginia to register for collection of the Retail Sales and Use Tax

▸ 2018: South Dakota v. Wayfair (2018) overturned Quill and held that physical presence 
is no longer required for a state to require a merchant to collect its tax

▸ 2019: Virginia law change requires remote sellers and marketplace facilitators to collect 
and remit the Virginia sales tax if annual sales made or facilitated to Virginia customers 
exceed $100,000 or 200 transactions (consistent with South Dakota thresholds 
approved in Wayfair decision)

Retail Sales and Use Tax

Taxation of Online Sales



Retail Sales and Use Tax

Hampton Roads & 
Historic Triangle 

(6-7%)*

Northern Virginia 
Region (6%)

Central Virginia 
Region (6%)

Additional 1% 
School Construction 

(6.3%)

Statewide Rate 
(5.3%)

Chesapeake
Franklin

Hampton
Isle of Wight

Newport News
Norfolk

Poquoson
Portsmouth

Suffolk
Virginia Beach

Williamsburg*
James City*

York*

Alexandria
Arlington

Fairfax City
Falls Church

Loudoun
Manassas

Manassas Park
Prince William

Charles City Co.
Chesterfield
Goochland

Hanover
Henrico

New Kent
Powhatan

Charlotte
Danville

Gloucester
Halifax
Henry

Northampton
Patrick

All other localities

*Williamsburg, James City Co., and York Co. subject to additional 1% Historic Triangle tax rate 



Retail Sales and Use Tax

Hampton Roads/Northern
Virginia/Central Virginia

General Fund 2.025%

Local Option 1.0%

K-12 Education 1.375%

Transportation 0.9%

Regional Transportation 0.7%

Total 6.0%

General Rate

General Fund 2.025%

Local Option 1.0%

K-12 Education 1.375%

Transportation 0.9%

Total 5.3%



Retail Sales and Use Tax

Historic Triangle

General Fund 2.025%

Local Option 1.0%

K-12 Education 1.375%

Transportation 0.9%

Regional Transportation 0.7%

Historic Triangle 1.0%

Total 7.0%

Localities with Additional 1% Tax

General Fund 2.025%

Local Option 1.0%

K-12 Education 1.375%

Transportation 0.9%

Add’l Local 1.0%

Total 6.3%



Appendix



Comparison to Rates in Other States

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES
(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

TAX RATE RANGE Number
(in percents) of INCOME BRACKETS PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

Low High Brackets Lowest Highest Single Married Dependents Single Married
ALABAMA 2.0 - 5.0 3 500 (b) - 3,001 (b) 1,500 3,000 500 (e) 2,500 (y) 7,500 (y)
ALASKA  No State Income Tax
ARIZONA (a) 2.59 - 4.5 4 27,808 (b) - 166,843 (b) -- -- 100 (c) 12,550 25,100
ARKANSAS (a) 2.0 - 5.5 (f) 3 4,300 - 8,501 29 (c) 58 (c) 29 (c) 2,200 4,400
CALIFORNIA (a) 1.0 12.3 (g) 9 9,325 (b) - 625,369 (b) 129 (c) 258 (c) 400 (c) 4,803 (a) 9,606 (a)
COLORADO 4.55 1 -----Flat rate----- -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
CONNECTICUT 3.0 - 6.99 7 10,000 (b) - 500,000 (b) 15,000 (h) 24,000 (h) 0 -- (h) -- (h)
DELAWARE 0.0 - 6.6 7 2,000 - 60,001 110 (c) 220 (c) 110 (c) 3,250 6,500
FLORIDA  No State Income Tax
GEORGIA 1.0 - 5.75 6 750 (i) - 7,001 (i) 2,700 7,400 3,000 5,400 7,100
HAWAII 1.4 - 11.0 12 2,400 (b) - 200,000 (b) 1,144 2,288 1,144 2,200 4,400
IDAHO (a) 1.125 - 6.5 5 1,568 (b) - 7,939 (b) -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
ILLINOIS (a) 4.95 1 -----Flat rate----- 2,375 4,750 2,375 -- --
INDIANA 3.23 1 -----Flat rate----- 1,000 2,000 2,500 (j) -- --
IOWA (a) 0.33 - 8.53 9 1,743 - 78,435 40 (c) 80 (c) 40 (c) 2,210 (a) 5,450 (a)
KANSAS 3.1 - 5.7 3 15,000 (b) - 30,000 (b) 2,250 4,500 2,250 3,500 8,000
KENTUCKY 5.0 1 -----Flat rate-----           -----------None----------- 2,770 2,770
LOUISIANA 1.85 - 4.25 3 12,500 (b) - 50,001 (b) 4,500 (k) 9,000 (k) 1,000 -- (k) -- (k)
MAINE (a) 5.8 - 7.15 3 23,000 (l) - 54,450 (l) 4,450 8,900 4,450 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
MARYLAND 2.0 - 5.75 8 1,000 (m) - 250,000 (m) 3,200 6,400 3,200 2,350 (z) 4,700 (z)
MASSACHUSETTS 5.0 1 -----Flat rate----- 4,400 8,800 1,000 -- --
MICHIGAN (a) 4.25 1 -----Flat rate----- 4,900 9,800 4,900 -- --
MINNESOTA (a) 5.35 - 9.85 4 28,080 (n) - 171,221 (n) -- (d) -- (d) 4,350 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
MISSISSIPPI 0.0 - 5.0 3 5,000 - 10,001 6,000 12,000 1,500 2,300 4,600
MISSOURI (a) 1.5 - 5.3 9 1,121 - 8,968 -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)

STANDARD DEDUCTION


ind_income (2)

		STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

		(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

						TAX RATE RANGE						Number

						(in percents)						of						INCOME BRACKETS												PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS								STANDARD DEDUCTION

				Low				High				Brackets		Lowest						Highest						Single				Married				Dependents				Single				Married

		ALABAMA		2.0		-		5.0				3		500		(b)		-		3,001		(b)				1,500				3,000				500		(e)		2,500		(y)		7,500		(y)

		ALASKA		No State Income Tax

		ARIZONA (a)		2.59		-		4.5				4		27,808		(b)		-		166,843		(b)				--				--				100		(c)		12,550				25,100

		ARKANSAS (a)		2.0		-		5.5		(f)		3		4,300				-		8,501						29		(c)		58		(c)		29		(c)		2,200				4,400

		CALIFORNIA (a)		1.0				12.3		(g)		9		9,325		(b)		-		625,369		(b)				129		(c)		258		(c)		400		(c)		4,803		(a)		9,606		(a)

		COLORADO		4.55								1						-----Flat rate-----								--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		CONNECTICUT		3.0		-		6.99				7		10,000		(b)		-		500,000		(b)				15,000		(h)		24,000		(h)		0				--		(h)		--		(h)

		DELAWARE		0.0		-		6.6				7		2,000				-		60,001						110		(c)		220		(c)		110		(c)		3,250				6,500

		FLORIDA		No State Income Tax

		GEORGIA		1.0		-		5.75				6		750		(i)		-		7,001		(i)				2,700				7,400				3,000				5,400				7,100

		HAWAII		1.4		-		11.0				12		2,400		(b)		-		200,000		(b)				1,144				2,288				1,144				2,200				4,400

		IDAHO (a)		1.125		-		6.5				5		1,568		(b)		-		7,939		(b)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		ILLINOIS (a)		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								2,375				4,750				2,375				--				--

		INDIANA		3.23								1						-----Flat rate-----								1,000				2,000				2,500		(j)		--				--

		IOWA (a)		0.33		-		8.53				9		1,743				-		78,435						40		(c)		80		(c)		40		(c)		2,210		(a)		5,450		(a)

		KANSAS		3.1		-		5.7				3		15,000		(b)		-		30,000		(b)				2,250				4,500				2,250				3,500				8,000

		KENTUCKY		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								2,770				2,770

		LOUISIANA		1.85		-		4.25				3		12,500		(b)		-		50,001		(b)				4,500		(k)		9,000		(k)		1,000				--		(k)		--		(k)

		MAINE (a)		5.8		-		7.15				3		23,000		(l)		-		54,450		(l)				4,450				8,900				4,450				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MARYLAND		2.0		-		5.75				8		1,000		(m)		-		250,000		(m)				3,200				6,400				3,200				2,350		(z)		4,700		(z)

		MASSACHUSETTS		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,400				8,800				1,000				--				--

		MICHIGAN (a)		4.25								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,900				9,800				4,900				--				--

		MINNESOTA (a)		5.35		-		9.85				4		28,080		(n)		-		171,221		(n)				--		(d)		--		(d)		4,350				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MISSISSIPPI		0.0		-		5.0				3		5,000				-		10,001						6,000				12,000				1,500				2,300				4,600

		MISSOURI (a)		1.5		-		5.3				9		1,121				-		8,968						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MONTANA (a)		1.0		-		6.75				7		2,900				-		17,400						2,580				5,160				2,580				4,830		(z)		9,660		(z)

		NEBRASKA (a)		2.46		-		6.84				4		3,340		(b)		-		32,210		(b)				142		(c)		284		(c)		142		(c)		7,100				14,200

		NEVADA		No State Income Tax

		NEW HAMPSHIRE		State Income Tax of 5% on Dividends and Interest Income Only

		NEW JERSEY		1.4		-		10.75				7		20,000		(p)		-		$1 million		(p)				1,000				2,000				1,500				--				--

		NEW MEXICO		1.7		-		5.9				5		5,500		(q)		-		210,000		(q)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		NEW YORK (a)		4.0		-		10.9				9		8,500		(r)		-		$23 million		(r)				0				0				1,000				8,000				16,050

		NORTH CAROLINA		4.99								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								10,750				21,500

		NORTH DAKOTA (a)		1.10		-		2.90				5		41,775		(s)		-		458,350		(s)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		OHIO (a)		0.0				3.99				6		25,000				-		110,650						1,900		(t)		3,800		(t)		1,900		(t)		--				--

		OKLAHOMA		0.25		-		4.75				6		1,000		(u)		-		7,200		(u)				1,000				2,000				1,000				6,350				12,700

		OREGON (a)		4.75		-		9.9				4		3,750		(b)		-		125,000		(b)				219		(c)		438		(c)		219		(c)		2,420				4,840

		PENNSYLVANIA		3.07								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								--				--

		RHODE ISLAND (a)		3.75		-		5.99				3		68,200				-		155,050						4,350				8,700				4,350				9,300		(y)		18,600		(y)

		SOUTH CAROLINA (a)		0.0		-		7.0				6		3,110				-		15,560						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		SOUTH DAKOTA		No State Income Tax

		TENNESSEE		No State Income Tax

		TEXAS		No State Income Tax

		UTAH		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								--				--				--				(v)				(v)

		VERMONT (a)		3.35		-		8.75				4		42,150		(w)		-		213,150		(w)				4,350				8,700				4,350				6,350				12,700

		VIRGINIA		2.0		-		5.75				4		3,000				-		17,001						930				1,860				930				4,500				9,000

		WASHINGTON		No State Income Tax

		WEST VIRGINIA		3.0		-		6.5				5		10,000				-		60,000						2,000				4,000				2,000				--				--

		WISCONSIN (a)		3.54		-		7.65				4		12,760		(x)		-		280,950		(x)				700				1,400				700				11,790		(y)		21,820		(y)

		WYOMING		No State Income Tax

																		-

		DIST. OF COLUMBIA		4.0		-		9.75				6		10,000				-		1,000,000						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		Source: The Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

		(a) 19 states have statutory provision for automatically adjusting to the rate of inflation the dollar values of the income tax brackets, standard deductions, and/or personal exemptions.  Michigan indexes the personal exemption only.  Oregon does not inde

		(b) For joint returns, taxes are twice the tax on half the couple’s income.

		(c) The personal exemption takes the form of a tax credit instead of a deduction

		(d) These states use the personal exemption/standard deduction amounts provided in the federal Internal Revenue Code.

		(e) In Alabama, the per-dependent exemption is $1,000 for taxpayers with state AGI of $20,000 or less, $500 with AGI from $20,001 to $100,000, and $300 with AGI over $100,000.

		(f) Arkansas has separate brackets for taxpayers with income under $84,500.

		(g) California imposes an additional 1% tax on taxable income over $1 million, making the maximum rate 13.3% over $1 million.

		(h) Connecticut’s personal exemption incorporates a standard deduction. An additional tax credit is allowed ranging from 75% to 0% based on state adjusted gross income.  Exemption amounts  and 3% rate are phased out for higher income taxpayers until they

		(i) The Georgia income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $10,000.

		(j) In Indiana, includes an additional exemption of $1,500 for each dependent child.

		(k) The amounts reported for Louisiana are a combined personal exemption-standard deduction.

		(l) The income bracket reported for Maine are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $46,000 to $108,900.

		(m) The income brackets reported for Maryland are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $300,000.

		(n) The income brackets reported for Minnesota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $41,051 to $284,811.

		(o) The deduction for federal income tax is limited to $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for joint returns in Missouri and Montana, and to $7,050 for all filers in Oregon.

		(p) The New Jersey rates reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the tax rates also range from 1.4% to 10.75%, with 8 brackets and the same high and low income ranges.

		(q)  The income brackets reported for New Mexico are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $8,000 to $315,000.

		(r) The income brackets reported for New York are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $17,150 to $25 million.

		(s) The income brackets reported for North Dakota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $69,700 to $458,350.

		(t) Ohio provides an additional tax credit of $20 per exemption. Exemption amounts reduced for higher income taxpayers. Business income taxes at a flat 3% rate.

		(u) The income brackets reported for Oklahoma are for single persons.  For married persons filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $2,000, to $12,200.

		(v) Utah provides a tax credit equal to 6% of the federal personal exemption amounts (and applicable standard deduction).

		(w) Vermont’s income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $70,450 to $259,500.

		(x) The Wisconsin income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply income brackets ranging from $17,010, to $374,600.

		(y) Alabama standard deduction is phased out for incomes over $23,000. Rhode Island exemptions & standard deductions phased out for incomes over $210,750; Wisconsin standard deduciton phases out for income over $16,000.

		(z) Standard deduction amounts reported are maximums, Maryland standard deduction is 15% of AGI; Montana, 20% of AGI.



&C&"Helvetica,Regular"&10&K000000FEDERATION OF TAX ADMINISTRATORS --  JANUARY 2022



ind_income

		STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

		(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

						TAX RATE RANGE						Number																																		FEDERAL

						(in percents)						of						INCOME BRACKETS												PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS								STANDARD DEDUCTION								INCOME TAX

				Low				High				Brackets		Lowest						Highest						Single				Married				Dependents				Single				Married				DEDUCTIBLE

		ALABAMA		2.0		-		5.0				3		500		(b)		-		3,001		(b)				1,500				3,000				500		(e)		2,500		(y)		7,500		(y)		Yes

		ALASKA		No State Income Tax

		ARIZONA (a)		2.59		-		4.5				4		27,808		(b)		-		166,843		(b)				--				--				100		(c)		12,550				25,100

		ARKANSAS (a)		2.0		-		5.5		(f)		3		4,300				-		8,501						29		(c)		58		(c)		29		(c)		2,200				4,400

		CALIFORNIA (a)		1.0				12.3		(g)		9		9,325		(b)		-		625,369		(b)				129		(c)		258		(c)		400		(c)		4,803		(a)		9,606		(a)

		COLORADO		4.55								1						-----Flat rate-----								--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		CONNECTICUT		3.0		-		6.99				7		10,000		(b)		-		500,000		(b)				15,000		(h)		24,000		(h)		0				--		(h)		--		(h)

		DELAWARE		0.0		-		6.6				7		2,000				-		60,001						110		(c)		220		(c)		110		(c)		3,250				6,500

		FLORIDA		No State Income Tax

		GEORGIA		1.0		-		5.75				6		750		(i)		-		7,001		(i)				2,700				7,400				3,000				5,400				7,100

		HAWAII		1.4		-		11.0				12		2,400		(b)		-		200,000		(b)				1,144				2,288				1,144				2,200				4,400

		IDAHO (a)		1.125		-		6.5				5		1,568		(b)		-		7,939		(b)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		ILLINOIS (a)		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								2,375				4,750				2,375				--				--

		INDIANA		3.23								1						-----Flat rate-----								1,000				2,000				2,500		(j)		--				--

		IOWA (a)		0.33		-		8.53				9		1,743				-		78,435						40		(c)		80		(c)		40		(c)		2,210		(a)		5,450		(a)		Yes

		KANSAS		3.1		-		5.7				3		15,000		(b)		-		30,000		(b)				2,250				4,500				2,250				3,500				8,000

		KENTUCKY		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								2,770				2,770

		LOUISIANA		1.85		-		4.25				3		12,500		(b)		-		50,001		(b)				4,500		(k)		9,000		(k)		1,000				--		(k)		--		(k)		Yes

		MAINE (a)		5.8		-		7.15				3		23,000		(l)		-		54,450		(l)				4,450				8,900				4,450				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MARYLAND		2.0		-		5.75				8		1,000		(m)		-		250,000		(m)				3,200				6,400				3,200				2,350		(z)		4,700		(z)

		MASSACHUSETTS		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,400				8,800				1,000				--				--

		MICHIGAN (a)		4.25								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,900				9,800				4,900				--				--

		MINNESOTA (a)		5.35		-		9.85				4		28,080		(n)		-		171,221		(n)				--		(d)		--		(d)		4,350				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MISSISSIPPI		0.0		-		5.0				3		5,000				-		10,001						6,000				12,000				1,500				2,300				4,600

		MISSOURI (a)		1.5		-		5.3				9		1,121				-		8,968						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)		Yes (o)

		MONTANA (a)		1.0		-		6.75				7		2,900				-		17,400						2,580				5,160				2,580				4,830		(z)		9,660		(z)		Yes (o)

		NEBRASKA (a)		2.46		-		6.84				4		3,340		(b)		-		32,210		(b)				142		(c)		284		(c)		142		(c)		7,100				14,200

		NEVADA		No State Income Tax

		NEW HAMPSHIRE		State Income Tax of 5% on Dividends and Interest Income Only

		NEW JERSEY		1.4		-		10.75				7		20,000		(p)		-		$1 million		(p)				1,000				2,000				1,500				--				--

		NEW MEXICO		1.7		-		5.9				5		5,500		(q)		-		210,000		(q)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		NEW YORK (a)		4.0		-		10.9				9		8,500		(r)		-		$23 million		(r)				0				0				1,000				8,000				16,050

		NORTH CAROLINA		4.99								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								10,750				21,500

		NORTH DAKOTA (a)		1.10		-		2.90				5		41,775		(s)		-		458,350		(s)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		OHIO (a)		0.0				3.99				6		25,000				-		110,650						1,900		(t)		3,800		(t)		1,900		(t)		--				--

		OKLAHOMA		0.25		-		4.75				6		1,000		(u)		-		7,200		(u)				1,000				2,000				1,000				6,350				12,700

		OREGON (a)		4.75		-		9.9				4		3,750		(b)		-		125,000		(b)				219		(c)		438		(c)		219		(c)		2,420				4,840				Yes (o)

		PENNSYLVANIA		3.07								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								--				--

		RHODE ISLAND (a)		3.75		-		5.99				3		68,200				-		155,050						4,350				8,700				4,350				9,300		(y)		18,600		(y)

		SOUTH CAROLINA (a)		0.0		-		7.0				6		3,110				-		15,560						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		SOUTH DAKOTA		No State Income Tax

		TENNESSEE		No State Income Tax

		TEXAS		No State Income Tax

		UTAH		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								--				--				--				(v)				(v)

		VERMONT (a)		3.35		-		8.75				4		42,150		(w)		-		213,150		(w)				4,350				8,700				4,350				6,350				12,700

		VIRGINIA		2.0		-		5.75				4		3,000				-		17,001						930				1,860				930				4,500				9,000

		WASHINGTON		No State Income Tax

		WEST VIRGINIA		3.0		-		6.5				5		10,000				-		60,000						2,000				4,000				2,000				--				--

		WISCONSIN (a)		3.54		-		7.65				4		12,760		(x)		-		280,950		(x)				700				1,400				700				11,790		(y)		21,820		(y)

		WYOMING		No State Income Tax

																		-

		DIST. OF COLUMBIA		4.0		-		9.75				6		10,000				-		1,000,000						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		Source: The Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

		(a) 19 states have statutory provision for automatically adjusting to the rate of inflation the dollar values of the income tax brackets, standard deductions, and/or personal exemptions.  Michigan indexes the personal exemption only.  Oregon does not inde

		(b) For joint returns, taxes are twice the tax on half the couple’s income.

		(c) The personal exemption takes the form of a tax credit instead of a deduction

		(d) These states use the personal exemption/standard deduction amounts provided in the federal Internal Revenue Code.

		(e) In Alabama, the per-dependent exemption is $1,000 for taxpayers with state AGI of $20,000 or less, $500 with AGI from $20,001 to $100,000, and $300 with AGI over $100,000.

		(f) Arkansas has separate brackets for taxpayers with income under $84,500.

		(g) California imposes an additional 1% tax on taxable income over $1 million, making the maximum rate 13.3% over $1 million.

		(h) Connecticut’s personal exemption incorporates a standard deduction. An additional tax credit is allowed ranging from 75% to 0% based on state adjusted gross income.  Exemption amounts  and 3% rate are phased out for higher income taxpayers until they

		(i) The Georgia income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $10,000.

		(j) In Indiana, includes an additional exemption of $1,500 for each dependent child.

		(k) The amounts reported for Louisiana are a combined personal exemption-standard deduction.

		(l) The income bracket reported for Maine are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $46,000 to $108,900.

		(m) The income brackets reported for Maryland are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $300,000.

		(n) The income brackets reported for Minnesota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $41,051 to $284,811.

		(o) The deduction for federal income tax is limited to $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for joint returns in Missouri and Montana, and to $7,050 for all filers in Oregon.

		(p) The New Jersey rates reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the tax rates also range from 1.4% to 10.75%, with 8 brackets and the same high and low income ranges.

		(q)  The income brackets reported for New Mexico are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $8,000 to $315,000.

		(r) The income brackets reported for New York are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $17,150 to $25 million.

		(s) The income brackets reported for North Dakota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $69,700 to $458,350.

		(t) Ohio provides an additional tax credit of $20 per exemption. Exemption amounts reduced for higher income taxpayers. Business income taxes at a flat 3% rate.

		(u) The income brackets reported for Oklahoma are for single persons.  For married persons filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $2,000, to $12,200.

		(v) Utah provides a tax credit equal to 6% of the federal personal exemption amounts (and applicable standard deduction).

		(w) Vermont’s income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $70,450 to $259,500.

		(x) The Wisconsin income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply income brackets ranging from $17,010, to $374,600.

		(y) Alabama standard deduction is phased out for incomes over $23,000. Rhode Island exemptions & standard deductions phased out for incomes over $210,750; Wisconsin standard deduciton phases out for income over $16,000.

		(z) Standard deduction amounts reported are maximums, Maryland standard deduction is 15% of AGI; Montana, 20% of AGI.
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Comparison to Rates in Other States

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES
(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

TAX RATE RANGE Number
(in percents) of INCOME BRACKETS PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS

Low High Brackets Lowest Highest Single Married Dependents Single Married
MONTANA (a) 1.0 - 6.75 7 2,900 - 17,400 2,580 5,160 2,580 4,830 (z) 9,660 (z)
NEBRASKA (a) 2.46 - 6.84 4 3,340 (b) - 32,210 (b) 142 (c) 284 (c) 142 (c) 7,100 14,200
NEVADA No State Income Tax
NEW HAMPSHIRE State Income Tax of 5% on Dividends and Interest Income Only
NEW JERSEY 1.4 - 10.75 7 20,000 (p) - $1 million (p) 1,000 2,000 1,500 -- --
NEW MEXICO 1.7 - 5.9 5 5,500 (q) - 210,000 (q) -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
NEW YORK (a) 4.0 - 10.9 9 8,500 (r) - $23 million (r) 0 0 1,000 8,000 16,050
NORTH CAROLINA 4.99 1 -----Flat rate-----           -----------None----------- 10,750 21,500
NORTH DAKOTA (a) 1.10 - 2.90 5 41,775 (s) - 458,350 (s) -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
OHIO (a) 0.0 3.99 6 25,000 - 110,650 1,900 (t) 3,800 (t) 1,900 (t) -- --
OKLAHOMA 0.25 - 4.75 6 1,000 (u) - 7,200 (u) 1,000 2,000 1,000 6,350 12,700
OREGON (a) 4.75 - 9.9 4 3,750 (b) - 125,000 (b) 219 (c) 438 (c) 219 (c) 2,420 4,840
PENNSYLVANIA 3.07 1 -----Flat rate-----           -----------None----------- -- --
RHODE ISLAND (a) 3.75 - 5.99 3 68,200 - 155,050 4,350 8,700 4,350 9,300 (y) 18,600 (y)
SOUTH CAROLINA (a) 0.0 - 7.0 6 3,110 - 15,560 -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)
SOUTH DAKOTA  No State Income Tax
TENNESSEE  No State Income Tax 
TEXAS  No State Income Tax
UTAH 4.95 1 -----Flat rate----- -- -- -- (v) (v)
VERMONT (a) 3.35 - 8.75 4 42,150 (w) - 213,150 (w) 4,350 8,700 4,350 6,350 12,700
VIRGINIA 2.0 - 5.75 4 3,000 - 17,001 930 1,860 930 4,500 9,000
WASHINGTON  No State Income Tax
WEST VIRGINIA 3.0 - 6.5 5 10,000 - 60,000 2,000 4,000 2,000 -- --
WISCONSIN (a) 3.54 - 7.65 4 12,760 (x) - 280,950 (x) 700 1,400 700 11,790 (y) 21,820 (y)
WYOMING  No State Income Tax

-
DIST. OF COLUMBIA 4.0 - 9.75 6 10,000 - 1,000,000 -- (d) -- (d) -- (d) 12,950 (d) 25,900 (d)

STANDARD DEDUCTION


ind_income (2)

		STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

		(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

						TAX RATE RANGE						Number

						(in percents)						of						INCOME BRACKETS												PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS								STANDARD DEDUCTION

				Low				High				Brackets		Lowest						Highest						Single				Married				Dependents				Single				Married

		ALABAMA		2.0		-		5.0				3		500		(b)		-		3,001		(b)				1,500				3,000				500		(e)		2,500		(y)		7,500		(y)

		ALASKA		No State Income Tax

		ARIZONA (a)		2.59		-		4.5				4		27,808		(b)		-		166,843		(b)				--				--				100		(c)		12,550				25,100

		ARKANSAS (a)		2.0		-		5.5		(f)		3		4,300				-		8,501						29		(c)		58		(c)		29		(c)		2,200				4,400

		CALIFORNIA (a)		1.0				12.3		(g)		9		9,325		(b)		-		625,369		(b)				129		(c)		258		(c)		400		(c)		4,803		(a)		9,606		(a)

		COLORADO		4.55								1						-----Flat rate-----								--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		CONNECTICUT		3.0		-		6.99				7		10,000		(b)		-		500,000		(b)				15,000		(h)		24,000		(h)		0				--		(h)		--		(h)

		DELAWARE		0.0		-		6.6				7		2,000				-		60,001						110		(c)		220		(c)		110		(c)		3,250				6,500

		FLORIDA		No State Income Tax

		GEORGIA		1.0		-		5.75				6		750		(i)		-		7,001		(i)				2,700				7,400				3,000				5,400				7,100

		HAWAII		1.4		-		11.0				12		2,400		(b)		-		200,000		(b)				1,144				2,288				1,144				2,200				4,400

		IDAHO (a)		1.125		-		6.5				5		1,568		(b)		-		7,939		(b)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		ILLINOIS (a)		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								2,375				4,750				2,375				--				--

		INDIANA		3.23								1						-----Flat rate-----								1,000				2,000				2,500		(j)		--				--

		IOWA (a)		0.33		-		8.53				9		1,743				-		78,435						40		(c)		80		(c)		40		(c)		2,210		(a)		5,450		(a)

		KANSAS		3.1		-		5.7				3		15,000		(b)		-		30,000		(b)				2,250				4,500				2,250				3,500				8,000

		KENTUCKY		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								2,770				2,770

		LOUISIANA		1.85		-		4.25				3		12,500		(b)		-		50,001		(b)				4,500		(k)		9,000		(k)		1,000				--		(k)		--		(k)

		MAINE (a)		5.8		-		7.15				3		23,000		(l)		-		54,450		(l)				4,450				8,900				4,450				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MARYLAND		2.0		-		5.75				8		1,000		(m)		-		250,000		(m)				3,200				6,400				3,200				2,350		(z)		4,700		(z)

		MASSACHUSETTS		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,400				8,800				1,000				--				--

		MICHIGAN (a)		4.25								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,900				9,800				4,900				--				--

		MINNESOTA (a)		5.35		-		9.85				4		28,080		(n)		-		171,221		(n)				--		(d)		--		(d)		4,350				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MISSISSIPPI		0.0		-		5.0				3		5,000				-		10,001						6,000				12,000				1,500				2,300				4,600

		MISSOURI (a)		1.5		-		5.3				9		1,121				-		8,968						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

		(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

						TAX RATE RANGE						Number

						(in percents)						of						INCOME BRACKETS												PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS								STANDARD DEDUCTION

				Low				High				Brackets		Lowest						Highest						Single				Married				Dependents				Single				Married

		MONTANA (a)		1.0		-		6.75				7		2,900				-		17,400						2,580				5,160				2,580				4,830		(z)		9,660		(z)

		NEBRASKA (a)		2.46		-		6.84				4		3,340		(b)		-		32,210		(b)				142		(c)		284		(c)		142		(c)		7,100				14,200

		NEVADA		No State Income Tax

		NEW HAMPSHIRE		State Income Tax of 5% on Dividends and Interest Income Only

		NEW JERSEY		1.4		-		10.75				7		20,000		(p)		-		$1 million		(p)				1,000				2,000				1,500				--				--

		NEW MEXICO		1.7		-		5.9				5		5,500		(q)		-		210,000		(q)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		NEW YORK (a)		4.0		-		10.9				9		8,500		(r)		-		$23 million		(r)				0				0				1,000				8,000				16,050

		NORTH CAROLINA		4.99								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								10,750				21,500

		NORTH DAKOTA (a)		1.10		-		2.90				5		41,775		(s)		-		458,350		(s)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		OHIO (a)		0.0				3.99				6		25,000				-		110,650						1,900		(t)		3,800		(t)		1,900		(t)		--				--

		OKLAHOMA		0.25		-		4.75				6		1,000		(u)		-		7,200		(u)				1,000				2,000				1,000				6,350				12,700

		OREGON (a)		4.75		-		9.9				4		3,750		(b)		-		125,000		(b)				219		(c)		438		(c)		219		(c)		2,420				4,840

		PENNSYLVANIA		3.07								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								--				--

		RHODE ISLAND (a)		3.75		-		5.99				3		68,200				-		155,050						4,350				8,700				4,350				9,300		(y)		18,600		(y)

		SOUTH CAROLINA (a)		0.0		-		7.0				6		3,110				-		15,560						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		SOUTH DAKOTA		No State Income Tax

		TENNESSEE		No State Income Tax

		TEXAS		No State Income Tax

		UTAH		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								--				--				--				(v)				(v)

		VERMONT (a)		3.35		-		8.75				4		42,150		(w)		-		213,150		(w)				4,350				8,700				4,350				6,350				12,700

		VIRGINIA		2.0		-		5.75				4		3,000				-		17,001						930				1,860				930				4,500				9,000

		WASHINGTON		No State Income Tax

		WEST VIRGINIA		3.0		-		6.5				5		10,000				-		60,000						2,000				4,000				2,000				--				--

		WISCONSIN (a)		3.54		-		7.65				4		12,760		(x)		-		280,950		(x)				700				1,400				700				11,790		(y)		21,820		(y)

		WYOMING		No State Income Tax

																		-

		DIST. OF COLUMBIA		4.0		-		9.75				6		10,000				-		1,000,000						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		Source: The Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

		(a) 19 states have statutory provision for automatically adjusting to the rate of inflation the dollar values of the income tax brackets, standard deductions, and/or personal exemptions.  Michigan indexes the personal exemption only.  Oregon does not inde

		(b) For joint returns, taxes are twice the tax on half the couple’s income.

		(c) The personal exemption takes the form of a tax credit instead of a deduction

		(d) These states use the personal exemption/standard deduction amounts provided in the federal Internal Revenue Code.

		(e) In Alabama, the per-dependent exemption is $1,000 for taxpayers with state AGI of $20,000 or less, $500 with AGI from $20,001 to $100,000, and $300 with AGI over $100,000.

		(f) Arkansas has separate brackets for taxpayers with income under $84,500.

		(g) California imposes an additional 1% tax on taxable income over $1 million, making the maximum rate 13.3% over $1 million.

		(h) Connecticut’s personal exemption incorporates a standard deduction. An additional tax credit is allowed ranging from 75% to 0% based on state adjusted gross income.  Exemption amounts  and 3% rate are phased out for higher income taxpayers until they

		(i) The Georgia income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $10,000.

		(j) In Indiana, includes an additional exemption of $1,500 for each dependent child.

		(k) The amounts reported for Louisiana are a combined personal exemption-standard deduction.

		(l) The income bracket reported for Maine are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $46,000 to $108,900.

		(m) The income brackets reported for Maryland are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $300,000.

		(n) The income brackets reported for Minnesota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $41,051 to $284,811.

		(o) The deduction for federal income tax is limited to $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for joint returns in Missouri and Montana, and to $7,050 for all filers in Oregon.

		(p) The New Jersey rates reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the tax rates also range from 1.4% to 10.75%, with 8 brackets and the same high and low income ranges.

		(q)  The income brackets reported for New Mexico are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $8,000 to $315,000.

		(r) The income brackets reported for New York are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $17,150 to $25 million.

		(s) The income brackets reported for North Dakota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $69,700 to $458,350.

		(t) Ohio provides an additional tax credit of $20 per exemption. Exemption amounts reduced for higher income taxpayers. Business income taxes at a flat 3% rate.

		(u) The income brackets reported for Oklahoma are for single persons.  For married persons filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $2,000, to $12,200.

		(v) Utah provides a tax credit equal to 6% of the federal personal exemption amounts (and applicable standard deduction).

		(w) Vermont’s income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $70,450 to $259,500.

		(x) The Wisconsin income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply income brackets ranging from $17,010, to $374,600.

		(y) Alabama standard deduction is phased out for incomes over $23,000. Rhode Island exemptions & standard deductions phased out for incomes over $210,750; Wisconsin standard deduciton phases out for income over $16,000.

		(z) Standard deduction amounts reported are maximums, Maryland standard deduction is 15% of AGI; Montana, 20% of AGI.
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		STATE INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAXES

		(Tax rates for tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

						TAX RATE RANGE						Number																																		FEDERAL

						(in percents)						of						INCOME BRACKETS												PERSONAL EXEMPTIONS								STANDARD DEDUCTION								INCOME TAX

				Low				High				Brackets		Lowest						Highest						Single				Married				Dependents				Single				Married				DEDUCTIBLE

		ALABAMA		2.0		-		5.0				3		500		(b)		-		3,001		(b)				1,500				3,000				500		(e)		2,500		(y)		7,500		(y)		Yes

		ALASKA		No State Income Tax

		ARIZONA (a)		2.59		-		4.5				4		27,808		(b)		-		166,843		(b)				--				--				100		(c)		12,550				25,100

		ARKANSAS (a)		2.0		-		5.5		(f)		3		4,300				-		8,501						29		(c)		58		(c)		29		(c)		2,200				4,400

		CALIFORNIA (a)		1.0				12.3		(g)		9		9,325		(b)		-		625,369		(b)				129		(c)		258		(c)		400		(c)		4,803		(a)		9,606		(a)

		COLORADO		4.55								1						-----Flat rate-----								--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		CONNECTICUT		3.0		-		6.99				7		10,000		(b)		-		500,000		(b)				15,000		(h)		24,000		(h)		0				--		(h)		--		(h)

		DELAWARE		0.0		-		6.6				7		2,000				-		60,001						110		(c)		220		(c)		110		(c)		3,250				6,500

		FLORIDA		No State Income Tax

		GEORGIA		1.0		-		5.75				6		750		(i)		-		7,001		(i)				2,700				7,400				3,000				5,400				7,100

		HAWAII		1.4		-		11.0				12		2,400		(b)		-		200,000		(b)				1,144				2,288				1,144				2,200				4,400

		IDAHO (a)		1.125		-		6.5				5		1,568		(b)		-		7,939		(b)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		ILLINOIS (a)		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								2,375				4,750				2,375				--				--

		INDIANA		3.23								1						-----Flat rate-----								1,000				2,000				2,500		(j)		--				--

		IOWA (a)		0.33		-		8.53				9		1,743				-		78,435						40		(c)		80		(c)		40		(c)		2,210		(a)		5,450		(a)		Yes

		KANSAS		3.1		-		5.7				3		15,000		(b)		-		30,000		(b)				2,250				4,500				2,250				3,500				8,000

		KENTUCKY		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								2,770				2,770

		LOUISIANA		1.85		-		4.25				3		12,500		(b)		-		50,001		(b)				4,500		(k)		9,000		(k)		1,000				--		(k)		--		(k)		Yes

		MAINE (a)		5.8		-		7.15				3		23,000		(l)		-		54,450		(l)				4,450				8,900				4,450				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MARYLAND		2.0		-		5.75				8		1,000		(m)		-		250,000		(m)				3,200				6,400				3,200				2,350		(z)		4,700		(z)

		MASSACHUSETTS		5.0								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,400				8,800				1,000				--				--

		MICHIGAN (a)		4.25								1						-----Flat rate-----								4,900				9,800				4,900				--				--

		MINNESOTA (a)		5.35		-		9.85				4		28,080		(n)		-		171,221		(n)				--		(d)		--		(d)		4,350				12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		MISSISSIPPI		0.0		-		5.0				3		5,000				-		10,001						6,000				12,000				1,500				2,300				4,600

		MISSOURI (a)		1.5		-		5.3				9		1,121				-		8,968						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)		Yes (o)

		MONTANA (a)		1.0		-		6.75				7		2,900				-		17,400						2,580				5,160				2,580				4,830		(z)		9,660		(z)		Yes (o)

		NEBRASKA (a)		2.46		-		6.84				4		3,340		(b)		-		32,210		(b)				142		(c)		284		(c)		142		(c)		7,100				14,200

		NEVADA		No State Income Tax

		NEW HAMPSHIRE		State Income Tax of 5% on Dividends and Interest Income Only

		NEW JERSEY		1.4		-		10.75				7		20,000		(p)		-		$1 million		(p)				1,000				2,000				1,500				--				--

		NEW MEXICO		1.7		-		5.9				5		5,500		(q)		-		210,000		(q)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		NEW YORK (a)		4.0		-		10.9				9		8,500		(r)		-		$23 million		(r)				0				0				1,000				8,000				16,050

		NORTH CAROLINA		4.99								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								10,750				21,500

		NORTH DAKOTA (a)		1.10		-		2.90				5		41,775		(s)		-		458,350		(s)				--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		OHIO (a)		0.0				3.99				6		25,000				-		110,650						1,900		(t)		3,800		(t)		1,900		(t)		--				--

		OKLAHOMA		0.25		-		4.75				6		1,000		(u)		-		7,200		(u)				1,000				2,000				1,000				6,350				12,700

		OREGON (a)		4.75		-		9.9				4		3,750		(b)		-		125,000		(b)				219		(c)		438		(c)		219		(c)		2,420				4,840				Yes (o)

		PENNSYLVANIA		3.07								1						-----Flat rate-----												-----------None-----------								--				--

		RHODE ISLAND (a)		3.75		-		5.99				3		68,200				-		155,050						4,350				8,700				4,350				9,300		(y)		18,600		(y)

		SOUTH CAROLINA (a)		0.0		-		7.0				6		3,110				-		15,560						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		SOUTH DAKOTA		No State Income Tax

		TENNESSEE		No State Income Tax

		TEXAS		No State Income Tax

		UTAH		4.95								1						-----Flat rate-----								--				--				--				(v)				(v)

		VERMONT (a)		3.35		-		8.75				4		42,150		(w)		-		213,150		(w)				4,350				8,700				4,350				6,350				12,700

		VIRGINIA		2.0		-		5.75				4		3,000				-		17,001						930				1,860				930				4,500				9,000

		WASHINGTON		No State Income Tax

		WEST VIRGINIA		3.0		-		6.5				5		10,000				-		60,000						2,000				4,000				2,000				--				--

		WISCONSIN (a)		3.54		-		7.65				4		12,760		(x)		-		280,950		(x)				700				1,400				700				11,790		(y)		21,820		(y)

		WYOMING		No State Income Tax

																		-

		DIST. OF COLUMBIA		4.0		-		9.75				6		10,000				-		1,000,000						--		(d)		--		(d)		--		(d)		12,950		(d)		25,900		(d)

		Source: The Federation of Tax Administrators from various sources.

		(a) 19 states have statutory provision for automatically adjusting to the rate of inflation the dollar values of the income tax brackets, standard deductions, and/or personal exemptions.  Michigan indexes the personal exemption only.  Oregon does not inde

		(b) For joint returns, taxes are twice the tax on half the couple’s income.

		(c) The personal exemption takes the form of a tax credit instead of a deduction

		(d) These states use the personal exemption/standard deduction amounts provided in the federal Internal Revenue Code.

		(e) In Alabama, the per-dependent exemption is $1,000 for taxpayers with state AGI of $20,000 or less, $500 with AGI from $20,001 to $100,000, and $300 with AGI over $100,000.

		(f) Arkansas has separate brackets for taxpayers with income under $84,500.

		(g) California imposes an additional 1% tax on taxable income over $1 million, making the maximum rate 13.3% over $1 million.

		(h) Connecticut’s personal exemption incorporates a standard deduction. An additional tax credit is allowed ranging from 75% to 0% based on state adjusted gross income.  Exemption amounts  and 3% rate are phased out for higher income taxpayers until they

		(i) The Georgia income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $10,000.

		(j) In Indiana, includes an additional exemption of $1,500 for each dependent child.

		(k) The amounts reported for Louisiana are a combined personal exemption-standard deduction.

		(l) The income bracket reported for Maine are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $46,000 to $108,900.

		(m) The income brackets reported for Maryland are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $1,000, to $300,000.

		(n) The income brackets reported for Minnesota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $41,051 to $284,811.

		(o) The deduction for federal income tax is limited to $5,000 for individuals and $10,000 for joint returns in Missouri and Montana, and to $7,050 for all filers in Oregon.

		(p) The New Jersey rates reported are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the tax rates also range from 1.4% to 10.75%, with 8 brackets and the same high and low income ranges.

		(q)  The income brackets reported for New Mexico are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $8,000 to $315,000.

		(r) The income brackets reported for New York are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $17,150 to $25 million.

		(s) The income brackets reported for North Dakota are for single individuals.  For married couples filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $69,700 to $458,350.

		(t) Ohio provides an additional tax credit of $20 per exemption. Exemption amounts reduced for higher income taxpayers. Business income taxes at a flat 3% rate.

		(u) The income brackets reported for Oklahoma are for single persons.  For married persons filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $2,000, to $12,200.

		(v) Utah provides a tax credit equal to 6% of the federal personal exemption amounts (and applicable standard deduction).

		(w) Vermont’s income brackets reported are for single individuals. For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply to income brackets ranging from $70,450 to $259,500.

		(x) The Wisconsin income brackets reported are for single individuals.  For married taxpayers filing jointly, the same tax rates apply income brackets ranging from $17,010, to $374,600.

		(y) Alabama standard deduction is phased out for incomes over $23,000. Rhode Island exemptions & standard deductions phased out for incomes over $210,750; Wisconsin standard deduciton phases out for income over $16,000.

		(z) Standard deduction amounts reported are maximums, Maryland standard deduction is 15% of AGI; Montana, 20% of AGI.
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Comparison to Rates in Other States

TAX RATE TAX BRACKETS TAX RATE TAX BRACKETS
STATE (percent) LOWEST HIGHEST STATE (percent) LOWEST HIGHEST
ALABAMA 6.5 ----Flat Rate---- NEBRASKA 5.58 - 7.5 100,000
ALASKA 0 - 9.4 25,000 222,000 NEVADA -- No corporate income tax
ARIZONA 4.900 ----Flat Rate---- NEW HAMPSHIRE 7.6 ----Flat Rate----
ARKANSAS 1.0 - 5.9 3,000 100,001 NEW JERSEY 9.0 ----Flat Rate----
CALIFORNIA 8.8 ----Flat Rate---- NEW MEXICO 4.8 - 5.9
COLORADO 4.55 ----Flat Rate---- NEW YORK 6.5 ----Flat Rate----
CONNECTICUT 7.5 ----Flat Rate---- NORTH CAROLINA 2.5 ----Flat Rate----
DELAWARE 8.7 ----Flat Rate---- NORTH DAKOTA 1.41 - 4.31 25,000 50,001
FLORIDA 5.5 ----Flat Rate---- OHIO *
GEORGIA 5.75 ----Flat Rate---- OKLAHOMA 4.0 ----Flat Rate----
HAWAII 4.4 - 6.4 25,000 100,001 OREGON 6.6 - 7.6 1 million
IDAHO 6.5 ----Flat Rate---- PENNSYLVANIA 9.99 ----Flat Rate----
ILLINOIS 9.5 ----Flat Rate---- RHODE ISLAND 7.0 ----Flat Rate----
INDIANA 4.9 ----Flat Rate---- SOUTH CAROLINA 5.0 ----Flat Rate----
IOWA 5.5 - 9.8 100,000 250,001 SOUTH DAKOTA -- No corporate income tax
KANSAS 4.0 ----Flat Rate---- TENNESSEE 6.5 ----Flat Rate----
KENTUCKY 5.0 ----Flat Rate---- TEXAS *
LOUISIANA 3.5 - 7.5 50,000 150,000 UTAH 5.0 ----Flat Rate----
MAINE 3.5 - 8.93 350,000 3.5 Million VERMONT 6.0 - 8.5 10,000 25,000
MARYLAND 8.25 ----Flat Rate---- VIRGINIA 6.0 ----Flat Rate----
MASSACHUSETTS 8.0 ----Flat Rate---- WASHINGTON -- No corporate income tax
MICHIGAN 6.0 ----Flat Rate---- WEST VIRGINIA 6.5 ----Flat Rate----
MINNESOTA 9.8 ----Flat Rate---- WISCONSIN 7.9 ----Flat Rate----
MISSISSIPPI 0 - 5.0 5,000 10,001 WYOMING -- No corporate income tax
MISSOURI 4.0 ----Flat Rate---- DIST. OF COLUMBIA 8.3 ----Flat Rate----
MONTANA 6.75 ----Flat Rate----

RANGE OF STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAX RATES
(For tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

500,000

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators
* Ohio has a Commercial Activity Tax (CAT) and Texas has the Texas Margin Tax, both in lieu of a corporate income tax
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		RANGE OF STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAX RATES

		(For tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

																TAX RATE (a)				FEDERAL

				TAX RATE				TAX BRACKETS						NUMBER		(percent)				INCOME TAX

		STATE		(percent)		LOWEST				HIGHEST				OF BRACKETS		FINANCIAL INST.				DEDUCTIBLE

		ALABAMA		6.5				----Flat Rate----						1		6.5				Yes

		ALASKA		0 - 9.4		25,000				222,000				10		0 - 9.4

		ARIZONA		4.9 (b)				----Flat Rate----						1		4.9 (b)

		ARKANSAS		1.0 - 5.9		3,000				100,001				6		1.0 - 5.9

		CALIFORNIA		8.84 (b)				----Flat Rate----						1		10.84 (b)

		COLORADO		4.55				----Flat Rate----						1		4.55

		CONNECTICUT		7.5 (c)				----Flat Rate----						1		7.5 (c)

		DELAWARE		8.7				----Flat Rate----						1		8.7-1.7 (d)

		FLORIDA		5.5				----Flat Rate----						1		5.5

		GEORGIA		5.75				----Flat Rate----						1		5.75

		HAWAII		4.4 - 6.4 (e)		25,000				100,001				3		7.92 (f)

		IDAHO		6.5 (f)				----Flat Rate----						1		6.5 (f)

		ILLINOIS		9.5 (g)				----Flat Rate----						1		9.5 (g)

		INDIANA		4.9				----Flat Rate----						1		5.0

		IOWA		5.5 - 9.8		100,000				250,001				3		5.0				Yes (i)

		KANSAS		4.0 (j)				----Flat Rate----						1		2.25 (j)

		KENTUCKY		5.0				----Flat Rate----						1		5.0

		LOUISIANA		3.5 - 7.5		50,000				150,000				5		3.5 - 7.5				Yes

		MAINE		3.5 - 8.93		350,000				3.5 Million				4		1.0 (k)

		MARYLAND		8.25				----Flat Rate----						1		8.25

		MASSACHUSETTS		8.0 (l)				----Flat Rate----						1		9.0 (l)

		MICHIGAN		6.0				----Flat Rate----						1		--- (a)

		MINNESOTA		9.8 (m)				----Flat Rate----						1		9.8 (m)

		MISSISSIPPI		0 - 5.0		5,000				10,001				3		0 - 5.0

		MISSOURI		4.0				----Flat Rate----						1		4.48				Yes (i)

		MONTANA		6.75 (n)				----Flat Rate----						1		6.75 (n)

		NEBRASKA		5.58 - 7.5				100,000						2		--- (a)

		NEVADA		--				No corporate income tax

		NEW HAMPSHIRE		7.6 (o)				----Flat Rate----						1		7.6 (o)

		NEW JERSEY		9.0 (p)				----Flat Rate----						1		9.0 (p)

		NEW MEXICO		4.8 - 5.9		500,000								2		4.8 - 5.9

		NEW YORK		6.5 (q)				----Flat Rate----						1		6.5 (q)

		NORTH CAROLINA		2.5				----Flat Rate----						1		2.5

		NORTH DAKOTA		1.41 - 4.31 (r)		25,000				50,001				3		1.41 - 4.31 (r)

		OHIO		(s)												--- (s)

		OKLAHOMA		4.0				----Flat Rate----						1		4.0

		OREGON		6.6 - 7.6 (u)				1 million						2		6.6 - 7.6 (u)

		PENNSYLVANIA		9.99				----Flat Rate----						1		--- (a)

		RHODE ISLAND		7.0 (b)				----Flat Rate----						1		9.0 (b)

		SOUTH CAROLINA		5.0				----Flat Rate----						1		4.5 (u)

		SOUTH DAKOTA		--				No corporate income tax								6.0-0.25% (b)

		TENNESSEE		6.5				----Flat Rate----						1		6.5

		TEXAS		(v)												(v)

		UTAH		4.95 (b)				----Flat Rate----								4.95 (b)

		VERMONT		6.0 - 8.5 (b)		10,000				25,000				3		--- (a)

		VIRGINIA		6.0				----Flat Rate----						1		6.0

		WASHINGTON		--				No corporate income tax

		WEST VIRGINIA		6.5				----Flat Rate----						1		6.5

		WISCONSIN		7.9				----Flat Rate----						1		7.9

		WYOMING		--				No corporate income tax

		DIST. OF COLUMBIA		8.25 (b)				----Flat Rate----						1		8.25 (b)

		Source:  Compiled by FTA from various sources.

		Footnotes on next page.

		(a) Rates listed are the corporate income tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  Some states have other taxes based upon the value of deposits or shares.

		(b) Minimum tax is $800 in California, $250 in District of Columbia, $50 in Arizona and North Dakota (banks), $400 ($100 banks) in Rhode Island, $200 per location in South Dakota (banks), $100 in Utah, $300 in Vermont.

		(c) Connecticut’s tax is the greater of the 7.5% tax on net income, a 0.31% tax on capital stock and surplus (maximum tax of $1 million), or $250 (the minimum tax).

		(d) The Delaware Bank marginal rate decreases over 4 brackets ranging from $20 to $650 million in taxable income.  Building and loan associations are taxed at a flat 8.7%.

		(e) Hawaii taxes capital gains at 4%.  Financial institutions pay a franchise tax of 7.92% of taxable income (in lieu of the corporate income tax and general excise taxes).

		(f) Idaho’s minimum tax on a corporation is $20.  The $10 Permanent Building Fund Tax must be paid by each corporation in a unitary group filing a combined return.  Taxpayers with gross sales in Idaho under $100,000, and with no property or payroll in Ida

		(g) The Illinois rate of 9.5% is the sum of a corporate income tax rate of 7.0% plus a replacement tax of 2.5%.

		(h) Bank tax rate is scheduled to decrease to 749% on 1/1/23.

		(i) 50% of the federal income tax is deductible.

		(j) In addition to the flat 4% corporate income tax, Kansas levies a 3.0% surtax on taxable income over $50,000.  Banks pay a privilege tax of 2.25% of net income, plus a surtax of 2.125% (2.25% for savings and loans, trust companies, and federally charte

		(k) The state franchise tax on financial institutions is either (1) the sum of 1% of the Maine net income of the financial institution for the taxable year, plus 8¢ per $1,000 of the institution's Maine assets as of the end of its taxable year, or (2) 39¢

		(l) Business and manufacturing corporations pay an additional tax of $2.60 per $1,000 on either taxable Massachusetts tangible property or taxable net worth allocable to the state (for intangible property corporations).  The minimum tax for both corporati

		(m) In addition, Minnesota levies a 5.8% tentative minimum tax on Alternative Minimum Taxable Income.  Minnesota also imposes a surtax ranging up to $10,480.

		(n) Montana levies a 7% tax on taxpayers using water's edge combination.  The minimum tax per corporation is $50; the $50 minimum applies to each corporation included on a combined tax return.  Taxpayers with gross sales in Montana of $100,000 or less may

		(o) New Hampshire’s 7.6% [for tax years ending on or before 12/31/22] Business Profits Tax is imposed on both corporations and unincorporated associations with gross income over $50,000. In addition, New Hampshire levies a Business Enterprise Tax of 0.60%

		(p) New Jersey also imposes a 2.5% surtax on taxpayers with income over $1 million in tax year 2021.  Small businesses with annual entire net income under $100,000 pay a tax rate of 7.5%; businesses with income under $50,000 pay 6.5%.  The minimum Corpora

		(q) Plus a Corporate Stocks Tax of 0.1875% for tax years 2022 & 2023.  A top bracket of 7.25% is imposed on income over $5 million for 2022 & 2023. A minimum tax ranges from $25 to $200,000, depending on receipts ($250 minimum for banks). Certain qualifie

		(r) North Dakota imposes a 3.5% surtax for filers electing to use the water’s edge method to apportion income.

		(s) Ohio no longer levies a tax based on income (except for a particular subset of corporations), but instead imposes a Commercial Activity Tax (CAT) equal to $150 for gross receipts sitused to Ohio of between $150,000 and $1 million, plus 0.26% of gross

		(t) Oregon’s minimum tax for C corporations depends on the Oregon sales of the filing group.  The minimum tax ranges from $150 for corporations with sales under $500,000, up to $100,000 for companies with sales of $100 million or above. Oregon also impose

		(u) South Carolina taxes savings and loans at a 6% rate.

		(v) Texas imposes a Franchise Tax, otherwise known as margin tax, imposed on entities with more than $1,230,000 total revenues at rate of 0.75%, or 0.375% for entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade, on lesser of 70% of total revenues or 1
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		RANGE OF STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAX RATES

		(For tax year 2022 -- as of January 1, 2022)

				TAX RATE				TAX BRACKETS										TAX RATE				TAX BRACKETS

		STATE		(percent)		LOWEST				HIGHEST						STATE		(percent)		LOWEST				HIGHEST

		ALABAMA		6.5				----Flat Rate----								NEBRASKA		5.58 - 7.5				100,000

		ALASKA		0 - 9.4		25,000				222,000						NEVADA		--				No corporate income tax

		ARIZONA		4.900				----Flat Rate----								NEW HAMPSHIRE		7.6				----Flat Rate----

		ARKANSAS		1.0 - 5.9		3,000				100,001						NEW JERSEY		9.0				----Flat Rate----

		CALIFORNIA		8.8				----Flat Rate----								NEW MEXICO		4.8 - 5.9		500,000

		COLORADO		4.55				----Flat Rate----								NEW YORK		6.5				----Flat Rate----

		CONNECTICUT		7.5				----Flat Rate----								NORTH CAROLINA		2.5				----Flat Rate----

		DELAWARE		8.7				----Flat Rate----								NORTH DAKOTA		1.41 - 4.31		25,000				50,001

		FLORIDA		5.5				----Flat Rate----								OHIO		*

		GEORGIA		5.75				----Flat Rate----								OKLAHOMA		4.0				----Flat Rate----

		HAWAII		4.4 - 6.4		25,000				100,001						OREGON		6.6 - 7.6				1 million

		IDAHO		6.5				----Flat Rate----								PENNSYLVANIA		9.99				----Flat Rate----

		ILLINOIS		9.5				----Flat Rate----								RHODE ISLAND		7.0				----Flat Rate----

		INDIANA		4.9				----Flat Rate----								SOUTH CAROLINA		5.0				----Flat Rate----

		IOWA		5.5 - 9.8		100,000				250,001						SOUTH DAKOTA		--				No corporate income tax

		KANSAS		4.0				----Flat Rate----								TENNESSEE		6.5				----Flat Rate----

		KENTUCKY		5.0				----Flat Rate----								TEXAS		*

		LOUISIANA		3.5 - 7.5		50,000				150,000						UTAH		5.0				----Flat Rate----

		MAINE		3.5 - 8.93		350,000				3.5 Million						VERMONT		6.0 - 8.5		10,000				25,000

		MARYLAND		8.25				----Flat Rate----								VIRGINIA		6.0				----Flat Rate----

		MASSACHUSETTS		8.0				----Flat Rate----								WASHINGTON		--				No corporate income tax

		MICHIGAN		6.0				----Flat Rate----								WEST VIRGINIA		6.5				----Flat Rate----

		MINNESOTA		9.8				----Flat Rate----								WISCONSIN		7.9				----Flat Rate----

		MISSISSIPPI		0 - 5.0		5,000				10,001						WYOMING		--				No corporate income tax

		MISSOURI		4.0				----Flat Rate----								DIST. OF COLUMBIA		8.3				----Flat Rate----

		MONTANA		6.75				----Flat Rate----

		Source:  Compiled by FTA from various sources.

		Footnotes on next page.

		(a) Rates listed are the corporate income tax rate applied to financial institutions or excise taxes based on income.  Some states have other taxes based upon the value of deposits or shares.

		(b) Minimum tax is $800 in California, $250 in District of Columbia, $50 in Arizona and North Dakota (banks), $400 ($100 banks) in Rhode Island, $200 per location in South Dakota (banks), $100 in Utah, $300 in Vermont.

		(c) Connecticut’s tax is the greater of the 7.5% tax on net income, a 0.31% tax on capital stock and surplus (maximum tax of $1 million), or $250 (the minimum tax).

		(d) The Delaware Bank marginal rate decreases over 4 brackets ranging from $20 to $650 million in taxable income.  Building and loan associations are taxed at a flat 8.7%.

		(e) Hawaii taxes capital gains at 4%.  Financial institutions pay a franchise tax of 7.92% of taxable income (in lieu of the corporate income tax and general excise taxes).

		(f) Idaho’s minimum tax on a corporation is $20.  The $10 Permanent Building Fund Tax must be paid by each corporation in a unitary group filing a combined return.  Taxpayers with gross sales in Idaho under $100,000, and with no property or payroll in Ida

		(g) The Illinois rate of 9.5% is the sum of a corporate income tax rate of 7.0% plus a replacement tax of 2.5%.

		(h) Bank tax rate is scheduled to decrease to 749% on 1/1/23.

		(i) 50% of the federal income tax is deductible.

		(j) In addition to the flat 4% corporate income tax, Kansas levies a 3.0% surtax on taxable income over $50,000.  Banks pay a privilege tax of 2.25% of net income, plus a surtax of 2.125% (2.25% for savings and loans, trust companies, and federally charte

		(k) The state franchise tax on financial institutions is either (1) the sum of 1% of the Maine net income of the financial institution for the taxable year, plus 8¢ per $1,000 of the institution's Maine assets as of the end of its taxable year, or (2) 39¢

		(l) Business and manufacturing corporations pay an additional tax of $2.60 per $1,000 on either taxable Massachusetts tangible property or taxable net worth allocable to the state (for intangible property corporations).  The minimum tax for both corporati

		(m) In addition, Minnesota levies a 5.8% tentative minimum tax on Alternative Minimum Taxable Income.  Minnesota also imposes a surtax ranging up to $10,480.

		(n) Montana levies a 7% tax on taxpayers using water's edge combination.  The minimum tax per corporation is $50; the $50 minimum applies to each corporation included on a combined tax return.  Taxpayers with gross sales in Montana of $100,000 or less may

		(o) New Hampshire’s 7.6% [for tax years ending on or before 12/31/22] Business Profits Tax is imposed on both corporations and unincorporated associations with gross income over $50,000. In addition, New Hampshire levies a Business Enterprise Tax of 0.60%

		(p) New Jersey also imposes a 2.5% surtax on taxpayers with income over $1 million in tax year 2021.  Small businesses with annual entire net income under $100,000 pay a tax rate of 7.5%; businesses with income under $50,000 pay 6.5%.  The minimum Corpora

		(q) Plus a Corporate Stocks Tax of 0.1875% for tax years 2022 & 2023.  A top bracket of 7.25% is imposed on income over $5 million for 2022 & 2023. A minimum tax ranges from $25 to $200,000, depending on receipts ($250 minimum for banks). Certain qualifie

		(r) North Dakota imposes a 3.5% surtax for filers electing to use the water’s edge method to apportion income.

		(s) Ohio no longer levies a tax based on income (except for a particular subset of corporations), but instead imposes a Commercial Activity Tax (CAT) equal to $150 for gross receipts sitused to Ohio of between $150,000 and $1 million, plus 0.26% of gross

		(t) Oregon’s minimum tax for C corporations depends on the Oregon sales of the filing group.  The minimum tax ranges from $150 for corporations with sales under $500,000, up to $100,000 for companies with sales of $100 million or above. Oregon also impose

		(u) South Carolina taxes savings and loans at a 6% rate.

		(v) Texas imposes a Franchise Tax, otherwise known as margin tax, imposed on entities with more than $1,230,000 total revenues at rate of 0.75%, or 0.375% for entities primarily engaged in retail or wholesale trade, on lesser of 70% of total revenues or 1
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