Commerce, Agriculture, Natural Resources & Technology


O’Bannon (C), Cox, Landes, Poindexter, Knight, Hester, James


The Legislative Fiscal Analysts that staff this subcommittee are Anne Oman and Skip Maupai.

2017 Session Meetings

During session, this subcommittee usually meets on Wednesday at 3:00 p.m.  Unless otherwise noted, this subcommittee meets in the Appropriations Room on the 9th Floor of the General Assembly Building.  Please be advised that all agendas, meeting dates, times and locations are subject to change with out notice.

Please note that the current weekly meeting schedule is posted on the Home page for easy reference. All meeting agendas and presentations, if available in electronic format, will be posted to the individual subcommittee pages as soon as possible.

February 8, 2017



February 3, 2017
Immediately upon adjournment of the Transportation Subcommittee  


February 1, 2017


January 25, 2017
- Immediately Upon Adjournment of the Appropriations Committee

  • Agenda
  • Bills Before the Subcommittee:
    • HB 1624 (James)
    • HB 1691 (Dudenhefer)
    • HB 1752 (Davis)
    • HB 1867 (Lopez)
    • HB 2347 (Byron)
  • Budget Amendment Requests


January 18, 2017

  • Agenda
  • Overview of the Commonwealth of Virginia’s Workforce Development Programs and Initiatives
    •  The Honorable Todd Haymore, Secretary of Commerce and Trade
  • Overview of Workforce Development Education and Certification Programs
    • Craig Herndon, Vice Chancellor of Workforce Development for the Virginia Community College Systems



Purview of the Subcommittee

Agriculture & Forestry

  • Secretary of Agriculture and Forestry
  • Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
  • Department of Forestry
  • Virginia Agricultural Council
  • Virginia Racing Commission

Commerce & Trade/Economic Development

  • Secretary of Commerce and Trade
  • Board of Accountancy
  • Department of Housing and Community Development
  • Department of Labor and Industry
  • Department of Mines, Minerals and Energy
  • Department of Small Business and Supplier Diversity
  • Fort Monroe Authority
  • Virginia Economic Development Partnership
  • Virginia Employment Commission
  • Virginia Tourism Authority

Natural Resources

  • Secretary of Natural Resources
  • Department of Conservation and Recreation
  • Department of Environmental Quality
  • Department of Game and Inland Fisheries
  • Department of Historic Resources
  • Marine Resources Commission
  • Virginia Museum of Natural History


  • Innovative Technology Authority