Subcommittee Information

Subcommittees are established for each functional area of state government. There are ten standing subcommittees that meet once or twice a week during Session and periodically throughout the Interim. Most of the detailed budget review occurs at the subcommittee level and they are the authoritative voice on policy and funding decisions on the budget.  

Subcommittees, in addition to reviewing the Governor's budget proposals, also review budget requests from members of the House of Delegates at large.  

Please note that during Session, the current weekly meeting schedule is also posted on the Home page for easy reference. All meeting agendas and presentations, if available in electronic format, will be posted to the individual subcommittee pages as soon as possible.  

Unless otherwise noted, documents are available on this website in Adobe Acrobat "portable document format" (PDF) which requires Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print.  Please be advised that all agendas, meeting dates, times and locations are subject to change with out notice.

Click here for the 2008 Session Subcommittee Meeting Schedule -Revised January 29, 2008 and Subcommittee Assignments.  


Joint Subcommittee on Elementary & Secondary Education Funding*


  • October 7, 2008 - 1:30 p.m. - House Room C, GAB


  • August 18, 2008 - 1:00 p.m. - Senate Room A, GAB

    • Agenda

    • Review of 2008 Appropriation Act Language

    • History of Virginia’s Education Funding Framework

    • School Finance Systems in Other States
      --Color Presentation, Print Version

    • 2008-10 Biennium Re-benchmarking
      --Color Presentation, Print Version

    • FY 2008 Teacher Salary Survey


      *NOTE: This subcommittee was formed pursuant to Chapter 879 of the 2008 Acts of Assembly (Budget Bill, Item 1.H.2).  Its purpose is to provide on-going direction and oversight of Standards of Quality funding cost policies and to make recommendations to their respective committees (House Appropriations and Senate Finance).

      • House Members:  Tata, Hamilton, Cox, Hogan, Joannou

      • Senate Members:  Houck, Miller, Wampler, Hanger

2008 Bill Tracking

Regular Session
Special Session II